Skip links

Who We Are


Dr. John Sankovic

President and CEO

Dr. Sankovic comes to Ohio Aerospace Institute following a distinguished 31-year career at NASA, where he most recently served as center chief technologist and director of the Office of Technology Incubation and Innovation. There, he received numerous awards, including the NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal, six Agency Honor Group Achievement Awards and an R&D100 technology innovation award.

Board of Trustees

Meredith Bond, Ph.D.

Interim Vice President, Research and Innovation
Interim Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Cleveland State University

John M. Horack, Ph.D

Senior Associate Dean in the College of Engineering
The Ohio State University

John M. Sankovic, Ph.D., P.E.

President and CEO
Ohio Aerospace Institute

Lee Ann Cochran

Amphora Consulting

Dennis Irwin, Ph.D., P.E., F.NSPE

Independent Trustee

Joseph Shields, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research & Creative Activity
Dean of the Graduate College
Professor of Physics & Astronomy

Ohio University

Wayne V. Denny, Jr.

Board Chairman
Independent Trustee

John E. Leland

Director, Research Institute and
Vice President for Research
The University of Dayton

Robert E. Tanner

OFRN, Executive Director
Parallax Advanced Research

Ali Dhinojwala

Interim Dean, College of Polymer Science and
Polymer Engineering
H.A. Morton Professor, Polymer Science 
The University of Akron

Michael McKay

Interim Executive Director
Ohio Third Frontier
Ohio Department of Development

Sherri Oblander

Executive Assistant and Board Secretary
Ohio Aerospace Institute

Gail Dolman-Smith

President & CEO
Paragon TEC, Inc.

Gautam Pillay, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research
Professor of Engineering Education
College of Engineering and Applied Science
University of Cincinnati